Practice Report

Funnel your energy towards the real heart of what you want to share, create, and become– unswerving, able to keep the target in your sights. You’ll see a major shift in your experience, new found energy for what you want will arrive to help you.”

David Garrigues

I just did 1st series from start to finish, no skipping vinyasa between sides, no skipping backwards somersaults.  I did substitute janu sirsasana for ardha baddha paschimottanasana on the left side, but I’m cautiously optimistic about the knee and might not need to do that anymore.

Afterwards, I watched Kino’s 1st series DVD looking for the utkatasana and virabhadrasana 2 floatback thingies that Meghan mentioned.  I accidentally clicked on the beginner option for ardha baddha padmottanasana.  I’m pretty sure that David Swenson said not to fold forward without a bind, but Kino says it’s okay as long as the knee points down.  Hmmm…  And she brings the shin way up high first, opening the hip socket and releasing all of the muscles before dropping into half lotus.  I wonder if that will help on the left side?  Hmmm some more.

So I’m feeling all wrung out and happy, if not terribly accomplished since I didn’t get up at 5 am and practiced at noon instead.  That’s not an option very often.  Soooo much bendier at noon.  I even, guilty pleasure, turned up the heat.  After the 3rd dropback I walked my hands in, they didn’t touch my heels but it was close enough that I freaked out and when I tried to stand up I just fell back and laughed these deep belly laughs.  I tried for a fourth but it just wasn’t in me and I’m learning when to quit.  It’s coming.  Then I put in the 2nd series DVD, the How to Work section, and watched Kino walk through pasasana for beginners.  Those binds are my nemesis!  Practice and all is coming.  Abhyasa vairagyabhyam tannirodha.  It is enough.

3 thoughts on “Practice Report

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  2. Sorry your comment didn’t show up roof weathervane. I know that the spam thing snagged even this comment but I unspammed it so any future comments should hopefully be accepted without a problem. Sorry! Thanks for visiting, you too Gertude Votolato.

Leave a Reply

